Making Things Simple

Making Things Simple

As unbelievable as it sounds, I can get overwhelmed. As a mom to six, I am constantly cleaning, driving, and worrying. Years ago, someone told me it would get easier as they got older, but I tell you, it’s not true! (You probably already know this.)  I have two teenagers in the house right now, and they are consumed with activities. I am not complaining. I want them to be involved in the community. However, their stress has a trickle-down effect. More activity=less cleaning time. I can easily fall behind in those mundane house-keeping tasks that cannot be put off.  

 {Laundry day…waaaah!!!}

The good thing about having a large family is that they can help out! I make sure we all pitch in. This teaches my daughters (and sons) to contribute and be responsible. Helping clean up another’s mess teaches service, and this is important to me. There is no greater reward than to see my child help someone out of the goodness of their own heart. 

As we progress through Holy Week, I feel close to God. I feel like he is calling me to make changes in my life. I want to simplfy the things in my life that have caused me to worry. This past weekend, we purged the upstairs bedrooms. It was an eye-opening experience. We threw away many broken toys and bagged up tons of clothes that no longer fit. Our parish is having a rummage sale in April, so this was the perfect time.  

 {This is just the tip of the iceberg, folks!}

Our parish had a Quilt Bingo yesterday. I had the privilege to help in the kitchen, which was hard to do because of all the delicious temptations surrounding me! 

 {My kitchen window view} 

We still have a lot of work to do on our spring cleaning / purging project. I want to make minimalism a part of our lives. This seems like a way to keep things simple for all of us. No more lost shoes, books, hair bows, etc. I am sure, however, we will still lose socks. 

Will you be doing spring cleaning anytime soon? Will you need help? Fear not! Have you heard of the Ultimate Homemaking Bundle? It’s incredible! There are several ebooks included in the package. The bundle is filled with priceless information every homemaker needs. Follow this link for more information:

Ultimate Homemaking Bundle

I encourage you to simplify your life as much as possible so you may enjoy spring and summer with your family. Comment below with your purging ideas for spring! Happy Easter!

Blessings…

5 thoughts on “Making Things Simple

  1. I want to do this so much. My possessions were forcibly purged four years ago when my house burned down. But other people in the family have accumulated more since then (I have not). I also feel that my whole life needs purging, you know what I mean?

    Like

  2. I’ve found myself randomly mopping the whole house, vacuuming, and scrubbing toilets. I chalk it up to spring. I’m not naturally a cleaner or one who keeps a spotless home but I do try. As for purging, we have a few bags in the garage but other than that we really have never kept too much. We’re also only 4 and in a new house (purged during our move). Prayers for you and your holy week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

